156380genericwebbanner907x95pxawjpg

Harlow Town FC- Season Review 2016 / 2017

Date posted: 17-05-2017

By Luke Henry

HARLOW celebrated a successful season back in the Ryman Premier League, exceeding expectations that were predicted at the start of the campaign, with the side pushing very close to a playoff position right until the climax of the season. However, although the Hawks have had a strong season back in the Ryman Premier League, they might collectively look at results and think about other possible outcomes that may of happened come the end of the season.

The start of the Hawks’ campaign resembled the start that most supporters would have predicted as three consecutive defeats were sandwiched in between two victories in the month of August, one of them being a opening day success against Kingstonian. There was a cause of optimism however around the camp, as spirited displays were shown against the likes of Worthing and Harrow Borough, even though the Hawks came away empty handed. Unfortunately, results did not change in the month of september, producing some inconsistent form. 3 wins arriving out of seven, one of them being a cup success against Romford. The two league wins came in notable fashion nonetheless, as victories against Bognor Regis and Needham Market respectively showed that Harlow could compete in the division, especially as the former side triumphed 2-1 to be in the play off final against Dulwich Hamlet to be promoted alongside champions Havant and Waterlooville, while the latter contested a play off push right until the very end of the campaign, similar to the Hawks. The Hawks ended september in 8th place on 14 points from ten games/

Results for the months August and September

● Saturday August 13th-Harlow Town 1-0 Kingstonian
● Tuesday August 16th- Harrow Borough 2-0 Harlow Town
● Saturday August 20th- Worthing 3-2 Harlow Town
● Tuesday 23rd August- Harlow Town 1-2 Dulwich Hamlet
● Saturday 27th August- Harlow Town 3-0 Wingate and Finchley
● Monday 29th August- Canvey Island 1-1 Harlow Town
● Saturday 3rd September- Harlow Town 3-1 Romford ( CUP)
● Saturday 10th September- Harlow Town 3-1 Bognor Regis Town
● Tuesday 13th September- Waltham Abbey 3-1 Harlow Town (CUP)
● Saturday 17th September- Kings Lynn Town 1-0 Harlow Town ( CUP)
● Tuesday 20th September- Hendon 2-2 Harlow Town
● Saturday 24th September- Harlow Town 1-3 AFC Sudbury
● Saturday 27th September- Harlow 5-1 Needham Market

After a resounding victory to end the month against Needham Market, October kicked off in dismal form with the Hawks losing the first three, conceding 12 goals within the Process. Defeats against Lowestoft Town, a shock defeat to Grays Athletic, who were to be relegated at the end of the season having only managed 11 wins all season. Havant and Waterlooville also piled misery on the Hawks, leaving them with 14 points from their 13 matches of the season. The form did improve throughout the month, with three wins coming before the end of the month, which carried into the month of november, with cup action the main focus of the month, the Hawks managed to stay unbeaten in the month, winning four and drawing two.

Results for the months October and November

● Saturday 1st October- Lowestoft 4-0 Harlow Town
● Wednesday 5th October- Grays Athletic 3-1 Harlow Town
● Saturday 8th October- Havant and Waterlooville 5-2 Harlow Town
● Saturday 15th October- Harlow Town 1-0 Staines Town
● Tuesday 18th October- Dulwich Hamlet 3-1 Harlow Town
● Saturday 22nd October- Kingstonian 0-1 Harlow Town
● Tuesday 25th October- Harlow Town 2-0 Harrow Borough
● Saturday 29th October- Uxbridge 0- 1 Harlow Town ( CUP)
● Tuesday 8th November- Brentwood Town 2-2 Harlow Town (CUP)- Harlow won 4-2 on Penalties
● Tuesday 15th November- Brightlingsea Regent 1-1 Harlow Town (CUP)
● Saturday 19th November- Billericay 1-1 Harlow Town
● Tuesday 22nd November- Harlow Town 2-1 Brightlingsea Regent ( CUP REPLAY)
● Saturday 26th November- Havant and Waterlooville 1-3 Harlow Town (CUP)
● Tuesday 29th November- Harlow Town 2-0 Hendon

Just before the turn of the year, the Hawks form slipped back into inconsistency. Victorious in three of their six matches in the league, with heavy defeats arriving against Leiston and Enfield Town respectively, before ending the year and the christmas period with a victory on home soil against Jimmy Bullard’s Leatherhead, meaning that Harlow finished the calendar year in 11th Place, with 36 points from 25 league matches. The Hawks embarked on another success in the cup, this time against higher opposition Eastleigh during December too. The start of 2017 kicked off in disappointing style with two consecutive draws against Canvey Island, where the Hawks blew a two goal lead at home, and then drew a blank away at Wingate and Finchley respectively. A hard fought defeat in the cup to York city ended the Hawks’ cup run, and after a defeat three days at home to Lowestoft, the Hawks before the Hawks propelled up the table with a string of consecutive victories against Tonbridge, Met Police, which saw prolific hitman Alex Read notch his 150th goal in Harlow colours, and Worthing respectively, which propelled the Hawks into playoff contention, leaving them in 8th Place, and one point of the play offs with 47 points. The match against Worthing will be remembered not just by a fantastic second half attacking display, but by a goal of the season contender from Layne Eadie, a 35 yard half volley into the top corner.

Results for December and January

● Saturday 3rd December- AFC Sudbury 1-2 Harlow Town
● Tuesday 6th December- Tilbury 0-0 Harlow Town (CUP)- Hawks lost 6-5 on penalties
● Saturday 10th December- Harlow Town 2-0 Eastleigh ( CUP)
● Tuesday 13th December- Needham Market 2-1 Harlow Town
● Saturday 17th December- Leiston 5-2 Harlow Town
● Tuesday 20th December- Harlow Town 2-1 Merstham
● Monday 26th December- Enfield Town 3-0 Harlow Town
● Monday 31st December- Harlow Town 2-1 Leatherhead
● Monday 2nd January- Harlow Town 2-2 Canvey Island
● Monday 7th January- Wingate and Finchley 0-0 Harlow Town
● Saturday 14th January- Harlow Town 1-2 York City
● Tuesday 17th January- Harlow Town 1-2 Lowestoft Town
● Saturday 21st January- Harlow Town 1-0 Tonbridge Angels
● Tuesday 24th January- Harlow Town 3-1 Met Police
● Saturday 28th January- Harlow Town 6-2 Worthing

Harlow started February with a strong away victory at Staines Town, making it four consecutive victories in the league. The winning run had seen them boast the best home record in the league, making the Harlow Arena a tough place for the teams to visit. Defeat in the battle of the Hawks against Havant and Waterlooville, who had the best away record in the league was followed by defeat away at Merstham. Four points from a possible six followed as a double header against Folkestone Invicta ended unbeaten, leaving the Hawks three points off a play off place behind Wingate and Finchley in 5th place. March was destined to be a vital part of Harlow’s play off push, especially with fixtures against Play off rivals Leiston, Billericay and Tonbridge Angels, with both Leiston and Billericay victorious against the Hawks at the Harlow Arena, although Danny Chapman’s side can feel a little aggrieved, especially against Leiston as a dominant display, which saw the visitors only have four shots in the entire game. These results left the Hawks six points off the final playoff spot, with the business end of the season fast approaching. Those defeats were sandwiched in between an away victory against Met Police, before two more wins at the end of the month left the Hawks against Burgess Hill Town and a commanding victory against Tonbridge saw the gap close to just two points between the play off spot, with Tonbridge occupying the final spot as the final round of football was about to begin.

● Saturday 4th February- Staines 0-2 Harlow Town
● Saturday 11th February- Harlow 0-2 Havant and Waterlooville
● Saturday 18th February- Merstham 1-0 Harlow
● Tuesday 21st February- Harlow Town 2-2 Folkestone Invicta
● Saturday 25th February- Folkestone Invicta 1-4 Harlow Town
● Saturday 4th March- Harlow Town 0-2 Billericay Town
● Saturday 11th March- Met Police 0-2 Harlow Town
● Saturday 18th March- Harlow Town 1-2 Leiston
● Tuesday 21st March- Burgess Hill Town 0-1 Harlow Town
● Saturday 25th March- Tonbridge Angels 0-3 Harlow Town

With only 5 matches remaining in the season and the Hawks two points off the play off’s, Harlow couldn’t afford to drop points, which is exactly what they did against relegation threatened Burgess Hill Town at home, leaving them four points off with four to play. An expected yet emphatic 5-0 over Grays Athletic left the Hawks knowing their next two games in the space of 48 hours against present league leaders Bognor Regis Town and Play off rivals Enfield Town would decide their playoff challenge along with other results within the chasing pack. Unfortunately for the Hawks, a defeat away at Bognor effectively ended their play off’s as they were now five points off the pace with only two games to go. The damage was done two days later, as another defeat this time against Enfield Town ensured that Harlow were mathematically out of the playoff race this season. The Hawks’ season came to end on 22 April and ended in a close defeat in a topsy turvy encounter against Leatherhead, which meant that the Hawks finished the campaign on 67 points after 46 games, finishing in tenth, 8 points off the final playoff spot. No doubt Harlow had exceeded expectations in their first season back and can use this season as a platform to build on for next season.

● Saturday 1st April- Harlow Town 2-2 Burgess Hill Town
● Saturday 8th April- Harlow Town 5-0 Grays Athletic
● Saturday 15th April- Bognor Regis Town 3-0 Harlow Town
● Monday 17th April- Harlow Town 0-3 Enfield Town
● Saturday 22nd April- Leatherhead 3-2 Harlow Town

Popularity: 1% [?]

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

your-harlow-advertisement-finaljpg

Photo Gallery

Log in