Harlow’s education heroes praised at awards night.

Communities / Wed 12th Nov 2014 at 10:03am

Harlow Education Awards
The awards, organised by Harlow Council through the Harlow Strategic Educational Attainment Partnership, aim to reward and recognise young people who have made significant progress in their education and recognise the contribution that they’ve made to their schools and the community.

All 19 young people were nominated by their schools for the progress and contributions they have made at different learning stages often overcoming significant challenges to do so.

Over 100 people attended the awards ceremony held in the Council Chamber within the Civic Centre. The awards were presented by local Paralympian and role model, Anne Wafula-Strike MBE who gave an inspirational speech.

The awards, which were open to all schools in Harlow, were judged by Malcolm Morley (Chief Executive Harlow Council and Chairman of the Harlow Strategic Educational Attainment Partnership), John Keddie (Chairman of the Harlow Enterprise Zone Board) and Jackie Sully (Chief Executive of Rainbow Services). Professor David Hawker was the independent education expert.

Each young person was given a certificate with gift vouchers to mark their achievement. Trophies were presented to winning schools.

Winners Key Stage 1 – 2

First Place
Andrew Jansen
Pear Tree Mead School

Second Place
Gene Kennedy
Henry Moore Primary School

Third Place
Roisin Canny
St. Alban’s Catholic Academy

School winner: Pear Tree Mead

Winners Key Stage 2 – 3

First Place

Rebecca Lever
Stewards Academy

Second Place
Leah Bartram
Passmores Academy

Joint Third Place
Lauren Nicholson
Burnt Mill Academy

Joint Third Place
Safa Waleed-Yousif
Harlow Fields School and College

School winner: Stewards Academy

Winners Key Stage 3 – 4

First Place
Rachel Russell
Burnt Mill Academy

Second Place
Lydia Hawkins
Passmores Academy

Joint Third Place
Lukman Kazeem
Stewards Academy

Joint Third Place
Sylwia Czop
Harlow Fields School and College

School winner: Burnt Mill Academy

Highly commended

Kalani Bassi
Fawbert and Barnard School
Kieran Robertson
Freshwaters Academy
Lee Hart
Harlow Fields School and College
Amir Schultschik
Holy Cross Catholic School
Safa Ahmad
Jerounds Community School
Riley Ward
Potter Street School
Tyrone Kangwende
St. Lukes Catholic School
Cameron Hudson
The Downs Primary School

Anne Strike, said: “It was a genuine pleasure and privilege to attend the awards and see that children of all abilities were being rewarded for their efforts. Education is a magic key to life and it was heart-warming to see the young people receive their awards. Well done to Harlow Council for organising it.”

Councillor Jon Clempner, Leader of Harlow Council, said: “Although we are not the Education Authority we believe we should encourage and reward educational progress to help raise the aspirations and life chances of our young people. It was a great honour to be at the awards. The joyous reaction of the students and their families was truly inspirational – they were all a credit to themselves and Harlow.”

The awards were hosted by Harlow Council’s Chief Executive Malcolm Morley who declined a pay increase in 2013/14 to fund the awards as his personal contribution to supporting educational progress in Harlow. The money allocated for the pay increase has been put in a budget which will continue to fund the annual awards.

Malcolm Morley said: “All those recognised in the awards illustrate that aspiration and effort can lead to real progress and to the fulfilment of potential. I congratulate all those who received awards and hope that they become role models for the young people in Harlow.”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

No Comments for Harlow’s education heroes praised at awards night.:

Leave a Comment Below:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *