Harlow teachers scoop Essex Education Awards

Charity / Thu 5th Feb 2015 at 12:48pm

ESSEX County Council is pleased to announce the winners of the second Essex Teaching Awards following an awards ceremony hosted at the Lord Ashcroft International Business School at Anglia Ruskin University.

Essex County Councillor Ray Gooding, Cabinet Member for Education and Lifelong Learning said: “I was delighted to attend the Essex Teaching Awards and meet the winning teachers and support teams. Once again we received a high quality of applications, reflecting the wealth of experience among teaching professionals in Essex.”

“New to the awards this year was the Student Choice Award and it was wonderful to see teachers being recognised by the students they inspired, who were there to cheer them on. The direct impact these winners have on their students, especially those in challenging circumstances is clear and in many cases life changing.”

“All winners will be entered into the National Teaching Awards run by Pearson, and we will be sharing these examples of excellence within the winning entries across the county to ensure we continue to improve standards in Essex.”

Winners are listed below:

Teaching Assistant of The Year: Laura Dowsett, Maltings Academy Witham

New Teacher of The Year: Adam Farrugia, Beauchamps High Wickford

Teacher of The Year in a Primary School: Paul Disley, Highwoods Community Primary Colchester

Teacher of The Year in a Secondary School: Anne Slayford, Burnt Mill Academy Harlow

Teacher of The Year in a Special School: Helen Uludag, Glenwood School Benfleet

School Team of The Year: The Midday Team, John Ray Junior School, Braintree

Governing Body of The Year: Highwoods Primary School, Chelmsford

Headteacher of The Year in a Primary School: Karen Mackenzie, Hilltop Infants Wickford

Headteacher of The Year in a Secondary School: Sue Hammond, The Billericay

School Lifetime Achievement Awards: Joanna Clark, Burnt Mill Academy Harlow; Angela Brister, Deputy Headteacher, William Martin Junior School Harlow; Julia Bagshaw, Teacher, Hilltop Infants Wickford; Penny Smith, Headteacher, White Notley Primary

Student Choice Award – Primary: Miss Laura Retigan, Janet Duke Primary School Basildon

Student Choice Award– Secondary: Mr Lever, Tendring Technology College

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

No Comments for Harlow teachers scoop Essex Education Awards:

Leave a Comment Below:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *