Passmores Head Vic Goddard honoured by Essex Fire Service

Communities / Thu 3rd Sep 2015 at 08:17am

Vic GoddardAN award ceremony celebrated the fantastic work being carried out by Essex County Fire and Rescue Service and its partners in helping to improve lives and make the County safer.

The Community Awards, which were held at Essex County Fire and Rescue Service’s Kelvedon Park Headquarters on Friday August 28, saw emotionally charged scenes as it celebrated the achievements of both participants and the officers, volunteers and partner agencies who made those activities possible.

The Service’s hugely effective FireBreak course has helped thousands of young people over the last 11 years and more recently the successful formula has been adapted to help adults and families going through difficult times. Adapted courses have helped troubled families rebuild bridges, given the long-term unemployed the skills they need to get into work or training and even helped young people from Havens Hospice.

Acting Chief Fire Officer Adam Eckley said: “These awards recognised the fantastic work being carried out by Essex County Fire and Rescue Service, our partners and the people who have taken the lessons learned from our courses to create better lives for themselves.

“These schemes are a demonstration of the importance we as a Service place on working with the community and forging relationships with partner agencies across the County. By working together we can achieve so much more and some of stories we have heard tonight show that all people need is that initial help and they will work hard to improve their lives.

“We have also celebrated the amazing work being carried out by our staff and fire cadets who have all gone the extra mile to make these schemes the success they are.”

Awards were presented to:

– Firebreak Squad of the Year 2015: Dovercourt Department for Works and Pensions Firebreak Squad
– Firebreak Student of the Year 2015: Hayley Joyce
– Firebreak Achievement Award 2015: Austin Gilray, Tanya Green and Kyomie Stothard
– Fire Cadet Student of the Year 2015: Lauren Wells
– Fire Cadet Achievement Award 2015: Leanne Rattray, Grace Gillmore, Eden Coulter and Rosie Oliver
– Fire Cadet Champion Award 2015: Katie Rolfe
– Fire Cadet Squad of the Year 2015: Clacton Fire Cadets
– Fire Cadet Partner of the Year 2015: Tendring District Council and Tendring Community Safety Partnership
– ECFRS Children and Young People Champion 2015: Nick Holmes
– ECFRS Champion for Schools: Vic Goddard, Passmore School
– Partner of the Year 2015: The Police and Crime Commissioner for Essex
PCC Partner Recognition Award 2015: John McRoberts
– Partner of the Year 2015: Department for Work and Pensions
– Partner of the Year 2015: Anglian Community Trust
– ACT Partner Recognition Award 2015: Kyle Bryant
– Special Recognition Awards 2015: Lee Markwick, Graham Richardson, Martin Hills, Mark Wilby
– ECFRS Community Awards 2015: George Palmer, Simon Falzon, Graham Currie and Kirby, Chris Sollis, Nadine McFadden, Tendring Enterprise Studio School, and Di Boyd.
– Damsel in Distress Award 2015: Steve Bonsor

Attending celebrations on the night were Her Majesty’s Lord Lieutenant, Lord Petre, High Sheriff of Essex Vincent Thompson, Chairman of Essex County Council, Councillor Norman Hume, MPS David Amess and Rebecca Harris, Essex Police Assistant Chief Constable Julia Wortly along with 250 guests including Essex Fire Authority Chairman Anthony Hedley and Vice Chairman, Ann Holland, members and senior management and staff.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

No Comments for Passmores Head Vic Goddard honoured by Essex Fire Service:

Leave a Comment Below:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *