Emotional tribute to much-missed SFG College teacher at Harlow Education Awards

Business / Wed 8th Feb 2023 at 01:40pm

ON Thursday 19 January 2023 Harlow’s young people and educators were celebrated for their achievements at the annual Harlow Education Awards.

The awards were held in the Council Chamber at the Civic Centre. The awards recognise young people who have made significant progress in their education and who have made a real contribution to their schools and the community, often overcoming different challenges on the way. This year there were also awards to recognise the role of support staff and teachers.

Each young person was given a framed certificate and gift vouchers to mark their achievement. Trophies were presented to the winning schools.

Primary and secondary school winners:

  • A Remarkable Demonstration of Compassion/Kindness: Finlay Redington, William Martin Junior School; Ashden Hartman, Burnt Mill Academy
  • Exceptional Academic Achievement: Indie Pettitt, Henry Moore Primary School; Salisa Sudhakar, Sir Frederick Gibberd College
  • Outstanding Effort: Hayden Zuna, Potter Street Academy; Karson Dhakal, St Marks West Essex Catholic School
  • Overcoming Adversity: Lily Collins, Fawbert & Barnards Primary School; Charlie Adams, Sir Frederick Gibberd College
  • Significant Contribution to Wider Life of School: Dominic Roffey, Potter Street Academy; Andrew Maghari, St Marks West Essex Catholic School
  • Support Staff of the Year: Vanessa Abbott, Fawbert & Barnard Primary School; Helen Kempson, Sir Frederick Gibberd College
  • Teacher of the Year: Nancy Nicolson, Fawbert & Barnard Primary School; Amy Mills, Burnt Mill Academy

Harlow College winners:

  • Apprentice of the Year: Lucy Chandler
  • STEM Achievement: Mohammed Ibrahim Haidari Wardak
  • Outstanding Effort: Rebecca Herbert
  • Tutor of the Year: Paul Farrant

In addition, a posthumous award was given to Chris Pilcher from Sir Frederick Gibberd College, a teacher who sadly passed away last year. The award was collected by Headteacher Dee Conlon and Chris’ father, Richard.

The awards were attended by the Chair of Harlow Council, Andrew Johnson, who presented the awards, Leader of Harlow Council Russell Perrin and Harlow Council’s Chief Executive Andrew Bramidge.

Councillor Andrew Johnson, Chair of Harlow Council, said:

“The Harlow Education Awards recognise the achievements and contributions that our young people and educators make to their schools and our town.

“Harlow is going through a great period of change and development which presents thousands of opportunities for jobs, careers and training. The town has a very bright future if our young people are given the opportunity to realise their potential and aspirations, and it is thanks to the support of the great educators we have here in the town that they will hopefully be ready to seize those opportunities as they grow.”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

1 Comment for Emotional tribute to much-missed SFG College teacher at Harlow Education Awards:

2023-02-09 13:33:37

This is so sad but k

Leave a Comment Below:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *