Finalists for Best of West Awards 2016 announced

Communities / Mon 12th Sep 2016 pm30 07:10pm

INSPIRATIONAL volunteers, pharmacists and health professionals all feature in the Best of West Awards shortlist announced today by NHS West Essex Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG).

After weeks of nominations and a tough judging process, awards will be presented for 11 awards including Volunteer of the year, Best primary care and Best team or project.

Members of the public are invited to see the winners announced at an awards ceremony taking centre stage at the CCG’s Annual General Meeting on 29 September at the Zinc Arts Centre, Great Stony, High St, Chipping Ongar, with a complimentary lunch from 1pm.

Chief Officer at NHS West Essex CCG Deborah Fielding said: “The Best of Awards celebrates the exceptional work being done in west Essex to keep people well. The finalists for these awards come from all sectors of the community, demonstrating the commitment and enthusiasm local people have to deliver the best health and care services.

“We received lots of incredibly strong nominations and I’m really excited to celebrate the deserving winners at our AGM and I encourage local people to come and see the winners announced.”

You can also hear the latest from the AGM and Best of West Awards by following @nhswestessex.

Please confirm your attendance at the AGM and if you wish to, submit a question to the board, by emailing [email protected] or calling 01992 566140.
Before the AGM on 29 September, a board meeting in public will take place which local people are also welcome to attend. This will start at 9.30am and papers will be available to view on the CCG web site.

The full shortlist is as follows:

Best Primary Care Award:
Dr Sebastian Moutafis, GP, The Loughton Surgery (Loughton)
Prime Minister’s GP Access Fund, Delivery Team (Epping and Harlow)
Renier Van Zyl, Director, Stellar Healthcare (Epping and Harlow)

Pharmaceutical Care Award:
Drhu and Pretty Vafasana, North Weald Chemist (North Weald)
Harlow Pharmacy team, Harlow Pharmacy (Harlow)
Anastasia Pelentrides and team, Boots Pharmacy (Loughton)

Leading with care, compassion and respect
Alzheimers Society, West Essex Memory Services (West Essex)
Continuing Health Care Team (West Essex)
Johanna Gill, Action for Family Carers (West Essex)

Caring Together Award
Liz McLintock, District nurse, SEPT (West Essex)
Dr Soo Teo, Consultant Community Paediatrician, Hertfordshire Community Trust (West Essex)
Johanna Gill, Action for Family Carers/Macmillan Carers Service (West Essex)

Individual Volunteer Award
Olive Grannell, Action for Family Carers (Harlow)
Tim Atkinson, Fairycroft House Community Interest Company (Saffron Walden)
Christopher Bullock, Voluntary Action Epping Forest (Epping)

Best Team or Project
Compass Club Team, Epping Forest District Council (Epping Forest)
Linda Shipp, Action for Family Carers (Harlow)
Paul Goddard and Kelly Rowland, Uttlesford District Council and 1Life (Saffron Walden)

Best Health Education/Educator
Angie Pearson, Waltham Abbey Youth 2000 (Waltham Abbey)
George Sydes, Little Hallingbury Primary School (Little Hallingbury)
Glenn Gossling, West Essex CCG (West Essex)

CCG Unsung Hero
To be awarded to a member of West Essex CCG staff

Best Service Design
Continuing Health Care Team, West Essex CCG (West Essex)
Winnie Furlong, Clinical lead – leg ulcer service, Princess Alexandra Hospital Trust – (West Essex)
Stellar Healthcare, Central Referral Service – Deep Vein Thrombosis pathway (Epping and Harlow)

Celebrating Diversity Award
Claire Totman, Foster Carer (Epping)
Steeple Bumpstead Surgery (Uttlesford)

The overall Best of West Award
Angie Pearson, Waltham Abbey Youth 2000 (Waltham Abbey)
Anne Rouse, Newport Surgery (Newport)
Dr Soo Teo, Consultant Community Paediatrician, Hertfordshire Community Trust (West Essex)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

No Comments for Finalists for Best of West Awards 2016 announced:

Leave a Comment Below:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *