Harlow College named as maths centre for excellence

Education: Secondary / Wed 3rd Oct 2018 at 09:21am

THE government has named the 21 colleges that will be the first to establish maths centres for excellence.

The new centres were first announced in the 2017 industrial strategy and in response to Sir Adrian Smith’s review of post-16 maths education, which recommended improving basic maths for people over the age of 16.

The centres named today will aim to improve the quality of basic maths provision for low-attaining young people over the age of 16, and the chosen colleges are spread across the country to ensure that there is at least one in every region of England.

Their other objectives will be to design new and improved teaching approaches, develop high-quality teaching resources, build teachers’ skills and spread best practice across the country through maths networks.

Speaking at the Conservative Party conference this afternoon, education secretary Damian Hinds said many schools and colleges now excelled at teaching maths and English. He added that standards were therefore rising with more 11-year-olds meeting the required standards in reading and writing, and more teenagers achieving a standard GCSE maths pass before leaving education.

“However, there is more to do,” he said, explaining that the new centres for excellence would “test and share new ways to teach students who are re-sitting their maths GCSE”.

Colleges chosen

New College Stamford (East Midlands)
Leicester College (East Midlands)
Cambridge Regional College (East of England)
Harlow College (East of England)
Leyton Sixth Form College (London)
Newham College of Further Education (London)
Christ the King Sixth Form College (London)
Gateshead College (North East)
Lakes College West Cumbria (North West)
Tameside College (North West)
Nelson and Colne College (North West)
Fareham College (South East)
East Kent College (South East)
Greater Brighton Metropolitan College (South East)
Weston College of Further and Higher Education (South West)
City College Plymouth (South West)
Newcastle and Stafford Colleges Group (West Midlands)
Warwickshire College Group (West Midlands)
Leeds City College (Yorkshire and The Humber)
Grimsby Institute of Further and Higher Education (Yorkshire and The Humber)
Wilberforce College (Yorkshire and The Humber)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

No Comments for Harlow College named as maths centre for excellence:

Leave a Comment Below:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *